• Home
  • 2017 Annual Meeting

2017 Annual Meeting

  • 10 Aug 2017
  • 11 Aug 2017
  • Key Largo, Florida


  • AWRA Florida members
  • Not currently an AWRA Florida member (fee includes AWRA Florida membership through Dec. 31, 2016)
  • College or High School student and AWRA Florida Member
  • College or High School student not currently an AWRA Florida member (fee includes AWRA Florida student membership through Dec. 31, 2016)
  • Friday evening's Awards Luau ONLY (and speakers attending dinner)

Meeting Location
Murray Nelson Government Center
102050 Overseas Highway
Key Largo, FL 33037

Northstar |GHDAmec Foster WheelerCardno | HDR | Taylor Engineering | Creech Consulting
Organizations wishing to participate as
meeting sponsors should contact Garrett Wallace at 561-504-6877. Pay your sponsorship online here.  

Preliminary Agenda

Thursday, August 10
12:30pm - Meeting Registration Opens
1:00pm - Call to Order and Welcome – Mark Diblin, President, AWRA Florida
1:05pm - Welcome - Kate DeLoach, Senior District Aide for Holly Raschien, Florida House of Represenatives
1:20pm - Update of Florida Keys Initiatives - Rhonda Haag, Monroe County
1:45pm - TED - TBD
2:15pm - Sampling Ocean/Bay Water to Test for Microscopic Plastics - Sarah Enger, MarineLab
2:45pm - U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Update - Eric Bush, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
3:15pm - Break
3:30pm - Silver Springs Initiative - Projects to Improve the World's Largest Artesian Spring - Lee Wiseman, CDM Smith; TBD, St. Johns River Water Management District
4:00pm - The Nature Conservancy Cities Program - Sonia Succar, The Nature Conservancy
4:30pm - Geotechnical Engineering Considerations for the C-43 Reservoir - Kevin Aubry, Terracon
5:00pm - Closing Remarks
5:15pm - President's Reception - Network with presenters and attendees. Location: Sundowners, 103900 Overseas Highway.
Friday, August 11
8:30am - Registration Opens
8:55am - Call to Order - Mark Diblin, President, AWRA Florida
9:00am - Water Management District Update - Brian Armstrong, Southwest Florida Water Management District; Ann Shortelle, St. Johns River Water Management District; Terrie Bates, South Florida Water Management District; Hugh Thomas, Suwannee River Water Management District
11:00am - Lunch (on your own)
11:30am - 4:30pm - EcoTour of the Florida Keys - Experience the coral reefs and other sea life in the crystal blue waters of the beautiful Florida Keys! This snorkeling adventure includes snorkel gear and cold drinking water; drinks and snacks are available for purchase; transportation on your own. Note: Additional charge ($35 per person) for this event; spaces are limited. Location: Park at Holiday Inn and meet at Skippers Tiki Bar.
6:00pm - Reception and Awards Dinner and Ceremony - Join us for a pig roast (and vegetarian options) as we celebrate the achievements of the previous year, participate in fundraising activities in support of the Rosanne Clementi Education Program, and have lots of fun!
Note: one dinner included for each registrant. Additional charges for guests; see registration form. Location: Lobby at the Government Center.

Online meeting registration payments are processed by PayPal. However, a PayPal account is not required. Click on the "Register" button to get started. After being directed to the PayPal website, just click on "Don't have a PayPal account?" to pay with a credit or debit card. ONLINE REGISTRATION ENDS AUGUST 8, 2017. You can also register and pay in person (via cash, check or credit/debit card) at the meeting.  

Hotel Information
AWRA Florida does not have a host hotel for this meeting but several options are close by:
Hampton Inn Key Largo (next door to the meeting)
102400 Overseas Highway
Courtyard Key Largo
99751 Overseas Highway
Holiday Inn Key Largo
99701 Overseas Highway

AWRA Florida Board of Directors Meeting
Date/Time: Thursday, August 10 from 10am-12pm
Location: Murray Nelson Government Center
All are welcome to attend as the Board of Directors handles the business of the section.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software